Free Downloads

ISO 20000: 2011
ITIL 2011 MMap

Request for Change (RFC) Template

Major Incident Report Template

ISO 20000/ITIL Timeline poster


Sponsored Links



Apr 6, 2012

ITIL Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Improvement
CSI is not strictly a lifecycle stage, since it spans through all four other stages. It is mainly a set of Quality Management skills put together to make better Strategy, Design, Transition and Operation. Therefore the main tool is Deming's circle (Plan-Do-Check-Act) together with Seven-step Improvement process.

Continual Service Improvement relies also on change management and capability improvement methodologies. Everything is oriented to align processes from Strategy to Operation, and thus comply to changing business requirements.

Purpose of ITIL Continual Service Improvement is to ensure IT Services alignment with business needs. This is  done via improvements to IT services through Strategy, Design, Transition and Operation stages. We want to improve effectiveness of service, process and cost.

I will quote these in a best effort to provide quality info under 'fair use' terms
  • Review, analyze, prioritize and make recommendations on improvement opportunities in each lifecycle stage
  • Review and analyze service level achievement
  • Identify and implement specific activities to improve IT service quality and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the enabling processes
  • Improve cost effectiveness of delivering IT services without sacrificing customer satisfaction
  • Ensure applicable quality management methods are used to support continual improvement activities
  • Ensure that processes have clearly defined objectives and measurements that lead to actionable improvements
  • Understand what to measure, why it is being measured and what the successful outcome should be
  • Overall ITSM health
  • Alignment of Service Portfolio with changing business needs
  • Organization maturity and capability
  • Continual improvement of all aspects IT services and supporting assets
  • Continual service quality improvement
  • IT Services alignment to business needs
  • Cost effectiveness
  • Identification of improvement opportunities in all processes via monitoring and reporting
  • Identification of improvement opportunities org. Structures, resources, partners, technology, training and communications
Here are some Key principles:

CSI approach
It is a somewhat changed improvement approach from V2. here are steps and deliverables:
  • What is the vision? - Align with business vision, mission, goals and objectives
  • Where are we now? - Baseline assessments
  • Where do we want to be? - Measurable targets
  • How do we get there? - Service and process improvement
  • Did we get there? - Measurement and metrics
  • Feedback branch to beginning is How do we keep the momentum going? - Manage the implementation of improvement changes
ITIL Continual Service Improvement Mind Map
ITIL Continual Service Improvement Mind Map
Service Measurement
Why do we Measure?
  • To validate
  • To direct
  • To justify
  • To intervene
Baseline - current state of CI used as reference value for future comparisons

Vision to measurements:
  1. Vision
  2. Mission
  3. Goals
  4. Objectives
  5. CSF
  6. KPI
  7. Metrics
  8. Measurements
The seven-step improvement process
This is the only process in CSI, as title says it consists of seven steps, nicely mapped to a Deming's PDCA cycle and Knowledge management DIKW cycle. Picture is worth 1000 words. Enjoy:
CSI Seven-Step Improvement Process diagram
 CSI Seven-Step Improvement Process diagram

1 comment:

ashwinipatil said...

Every IT Company requires It Service Manager to maintain the optimum levels of the applications, for this they requires ITIL certification training.